Success Stories

Success stories, we’ve had a few!


Anietie Isong

Anietie Isong was one of our prizewinners in the Remembering Oluwale Writing Prize, and was an author in the Remembering Oluwale Anthology. He has since gone on to win the Society of Authors McKitterick Prize for his novel, Radio Sunrise.

William Thirsk-Gaskill (Academician)

William’s radio play Escape Kit, adapted from his novella of the same name, was broadcast on Radio 4 on November 5th 2019.

Lizzie Hudson (Academician)

Lizzie Hudson is one of our Academicians. Her story, Boys, first published in Litro Magazine, will be published in the inaugural Best of British Fantasy anthology.

Lizzie is also a finalist, selected from over 100 submissions, of the David Higham Associates Agency virtual open day.

Sarah Brooks (Academician)

Sarah Brooks is winner of the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize 2019.


May You

May You (2018) edited by SJ Bradley

The Walter Swan Prize Anthology.19 contemporary short stories chosen by Anna Chilvers and Angela Readman and edited by SJ Bradley. 

May You (£9.99) can be ordered from Valley Press here.




Remembering Oluwale

Remembering Oluwale (2016) edited by SJ Bradley

Winner, “Best Anthology” at the Saboteur Awards 2017

Remembering Oluwale (£8.99) can be ordered from Valley Press here.





Flash Fiction Slam Hall of Fame – FFS!

Our Flash Fiction Slam is an annual event, much loved and hotly anticipated.Winners of the FFS win unparalleled levels of glory, and the respect and envy of their peers. Here’s our FFS Hall of Fame so far:

2017 Winner: Phil Olsen, The Haunted Saucepan

2018 Winner: Fay Kesby, Coffee

2018 Winner: Fay Kesby, Coffee 

2019 Winner: Monica Dickson, One Of The Girls