Friday 31st May: Flash Fiction Slam with judges Tania Hershman + Benjamin Judge

This year, we are incredibly proud to be bringing back our Flash Fiction Slam for the third year in a row. Take our challenge, and maybe you could end up in our Flash Fiction Hall of fame!

This year, our slam judges are the legendary Tania Hershman, and brilliant Flash Fiction writer & performer Benjamin Judge.

The rules are simple. Each contender has 5 minutes to read a complete story. Our judges will mark each contestant against categories of style, story, and performance. They may even award extra marks for audience reaction, so the more friends you can bring to applaud you along, the better!

At the end, our judges will tot up the points and award a winner, who will win prizes, glory, and a coveted place in our Flash Fiction Hall of Fame.

The Flash Fiction Slam is also a great place to hear new stories. If you don’t want to compete, the Slam is a great place to make new friends and hear new writing. Tickets are £4 or FREE if you are on PIP/ UC / a low income.

Are you up for the challenge? Buy your tickets now.

Information on how to enter the slam coming soon.

Friday 31st May, 7.30
Carriageworks Studio Theatre

Flash Fiction Hall of Fame

2017: Phil Olsen, The Haunted Saucepan. Judges: Jimmy Andrex & John Clarke.
2018: Fay Kesby, Coffee. Judges: Jimmy Andrex, John Clarke, Clare Fisher.

2019: Maybe you! Who knows? Judges: Tania Hershman, Benjamin Judge.

This event is part of the Northern Short Story Festival. Full programme here.