Success Stories

Success stories, we’ve had a few!


This New North

This New North (2020) edited by SJ Bradley and Anna Chilvers

Produced by members of the Northern Short Story Festival Academy, this new anthology showcasing the range of talent in the North of England features work by Litro fiction editor Barney Walsh, author & critic Richard Smyth, and poet and academic Haleemah Alaydi.

Twelve of the authors featured in this new work are graduates of the Northern Short Story Festival Academy programme, which developed the voices of twelve brand new short story writers based in the region.

Published by Valley Press. 

May You

May You (2018) edited by SJ Bradley

The Walter Swan Prize Anthology.19 contemporary short stories chosen by Anna Chilvers and Angela Readman and edited by SJ Bradley. 

Published by Valley Press. 




Remembering Oluwale

Remembering Oluwale (2016) edited by SJ Bradley

Winner, “Best Anthology” at the Saboteur Awards 2017

Published by Valley Press. 





Flash Fiction Slam Hall of Fame – FFS!

Our Flash Fiction Slam is an annual event, much loved and hotly anticipated.Winners of the FFS win unparalleled levels of glory, and the respect and envy of their peers. Here’s our FFS Hall of Fame so far:

2017 Winner: Phil Olsen, The Haunted Saucepan

2018 Winner: Fay Kesby, Coffee

2018 Winner: Fay Kesby, Coffee 

2019 Winner: Monica Dickson, One Of The Girls