Past Festivals

The Northern Short Story Festival (NSSF or “NoShoSto”) is the North’s only festival dedicated to celebrating and championing the short story. NoShoSto started in 2016. You can find details of our past festivals and programmes and some of our highlights and success stories from authors we have supported, below.

January 2019 – Amanda Huggins, one of our shortlisted authors for the Walter Swan Short Story Prize, was shortlisted for the Costa Short Story Award.

August 2018 – Anietie Isong, one of our Remembering Oluwale prizewinners, won the Society of Authors McKitterick Prize for his novel, Radio Sunrise.

June 2018NSSF
May  2018 May You: The Walter Swan anthology launched
March 2018 – We applied for and were delighted to be awarded arts@leeds funding from Leeds City Council for 2018-2022. It means that we have the funding to develop the festival for the next 4 years.

June 2017NSSF
May 2017Saboteur Award for Remembering Oluwale

June 2016NSSF
June 2016Remembering Oluwale launched